top of page
Kevin Scanlon of Stephens Inc
Who Are We


September 28th, 2023 – Statehouse Convention Center Little Rock, AR



LITTLE ROCK, AR (FEBRUARY 2023) – The Brandon Burlsworth Foundation will be honoring Kevin Scanlon of Stephens Inc. with the 2023 Legends Award. The fundraising event will take place on Thursday, September 28th at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock, AR. Scanlon will be the 14th recipient of the award, the first being awarded in 2010 to Congressman John Paul Hammerschmidt.  

A 2-year letterman for the Razorbacks, Kevin Scanlon has been recognized for his achievements in academics and athletics in high school in Pennsylvania and in college at the University of Arkansas. Scanlon has been inducted into The University of Arkansas Sports Hall of Honor and The Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame. He led the Razorbacks to a Southwest Conference Championship and the 1980 Sugar Bowl. Other honors include Conference Player of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year, All-Southwest Conference Quarterback, and honorable mention, All-American. His single season pass completion percentage record at the University of Arkansas stood for 41 years.

Scanlon joined Stephens Inc. in 1987 and is now serving in his 36th year with the firm. He is currently an EVP and Director of the Private Wealth Management Division that includes overseeing 18 offices in nine states. Kevin is widely recognized as a business and civic leader and the Brandon Burlsworth Foundation is proud to honor him with the 2023 Legends Award.

The Legends Award is presented annually to a leader who has made a significant positive impact on our state and embodies Brandon Burlsworth’s legacy of excellence. Other past honorees include Coach Frank Broyles, John E. Brown III, Judy McReynolds, Curt Bradbury and Senator John Boozman.

For more details on the upcoming event, or to get involved as a sponsor, please contact Evelyn Allen, Director of Development for the Brandon Burlsworth Foundation at


Brandon Burlsworth Foundation

The Brandon Burlsworth Foundation was founded in 1999 in honor of Brandon who was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days after being drafted by the Indianapolis Colts. The Foundation honors Brandon’s legacy by helping underprivileged children in need through various programs including the Eyes of a Champion program, Burls Kids, Burlsworth Football Camps and more. Burlsworth’s biography, “Through the Eyes of a Champion, the Brandon Burlsworth Story” written by Jeff Kinley was released in 2001. “GREATER”, a major motion picture was released nationally in 2016. Visit for more information.


Burlsworth Trophy

Featured on ESPN’s College Football Award Show, the Burlsworth Trophy is presented each year to “college football’s most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on”. Brandon Burlsworth began his college career at the University of Arkansas as a walk-on and finished his career as a first team All-American before being selected with the 63rd overall pick in the 1999 NFL draft. He was the first Razorback football player to complete his master’s degree before playing his final college game and his number is one of only two numbers ever retired by the Razorback football program. First awarded in 2010, the Brandon Burlsworth Foundation presents the Burlsworth Trophy Award Show each December. Notable former trophy winners include Baker Mayfield, Stetson Bennett IV and Hunter Renfrow. Visit for more information. 


# # #

bottom of page