top of page

legends award

The Burlsworth Legends Award is presented annually to an Arkansan who has made a significant positive impact on the state. The Brandon Burlsworth Foundation presented the first Legends Award in 2010 to former congressman John Paul Hammerschmidt. Brandon Burlsworth and John Paul Hammerschmidt are both from Harrison, Arkansas. Hammerschmidt served for thirteen terms in the United States House of Representatives for Arkansas's 3rd congressional district located in the northwestern quadrant of his state. 

Vision Award

The Lindsey Reed Vision Award

Founding Brandon Burlsworth Foundation board members, Jim Lindsey and the late Stanley Reed were very instrumental in making the BBF what it is today. It is in appreciation to these two very important civic leaders that the Lindsey/Reed Vision Award was created.

In 1999, shortly after the accident that claimed the life of Brandon Burlsworth, Stanley Reed and Jim Lindsey reached out to Brandon’s family proposing to arrange a series of golf tournaments to benefit University of Arkansas students.  These two gentlemen helped raise over 2 million dollars to endow the Brandon Burlsworth scholarships at the UA. Since 1999, over $1,610,000 in financial aid has been given to 306 UA students through the Brandon Burlsworth scholarships.

Beyond what Jim and Stanley did for UA students through the scholarship program, they continued to guide the BBF as the foundation grew and provided more programs for underprivileged children around the state of Arkansas.

Legends Award

2023 legends honoree


Stephens Inc.

Kevin Scalon

A 2-year letterman for the Razorbacks, Kevin Scanlon has been recognized for his achievements in academics and athletics in high school in Pennsylvania and in college at the University of Arkansas. Scanlon has been inducted into The University of Arkansas Sports Hall of Honor and The Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame. He led the Razorbacks to a Southwest Conference Championship and the 1980 Sugar Bowl. Other honors include Conference Player of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year, All-Southwest Conference Quarterback, and honorable mention, All-American. His single season pass completion percentage record at the University of Arkansas stood for 41 years.

Kevin was selected in the 1980 NFL draft by the Los Angeles Rams. He was also with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats of the Canadian Football League in 1980. 

Scanlon joined Stephens Inc. in 1987 and is now serving in his 36th year with the firm. He is currently an EVP and Director of the Private Wealth Management Division that includes overseeing 18 offices in nine states. Kevin is widely recognized as a business and civic leader including being named by the Arkansas Jaycees as one of the Ten Outstanding Young Arkansans in 1988; named by Arkansas Business in 1993 to the inaugural class of 40 Arkansas Business Leaders under the age of 40; and was selected to the Multiple Sclerosis Society Hall of Champions. 

He is a current member of the Board of Directors of the Razorback Foundation Inc, and serves as board Vice President. He is also a member of the University of Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors and Executive Committee, a member of the University of Arkansas Walton College Dean's Executive Advisory Board, and serves on the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame Selection Committee. 

Kevin and his wife Vicki have been married for 43 years and live in Little Rock. They have three children and nine grandchildren. 

Read the press release here.


previous  honorees

bottom of page